Name (Last, First) Office Email
Afary, Janet
Professor
Mellichamp Chair in Global Religion
Area: Modern Iran; Gender and Sexuality in the Middle East
HSSB 3047
afary@religion.ucsb.edu
Ahmad, Ahmad Atif
Professor
HSSB 3032
Fall 2017: By appointment
aahmad@religion.ucsb.edu
Amihay, Ofra
Lecturer
Area: Hebrew & Comparative Literature; Visual Culture
HSSB 3048
T/R 12:30-2:00
oamihay@religion.ucsb.edu
Amihay, Aryeh
Lecturer
Area: Biblical Studies, Ancient Judaism, Legal Theory
HSSB 3048
T/R 2:30-4:30pm
aamihay@ucsb.edu
Blankholm, Joseph
Assistant Professor
Area: American Religion, Secularism and Atheism, Sociology and Anthropology of Religion
HSSB 3049
Fall 2017: Tues/Thurs 3:30 – 4:30pm (and by appointment)
blankholm@religion.ucsb.edu
Busto, Rudy
Associate Professor
Director of Graduate Studies
Area: American Religion, Race and Religion, Religion and Science Fiction
HSSB 3082
Wednesdays 1-3 & by appointment
rude@religion.ucsb.edu
Cabezón, José
Professor
Dalai Lama Professor
Area: Tibetan Buddhist Studies
HSSB 3026
T, Th, 3:30-4:30 or by appointment
jcabezon@religion.ucsb.edu
Campo, Juan
Associate Professor
Area: History of Religions (Islam), Arabic
HSSB 3054
jcampo@religion.ucsb.edu
Campo, Magda
Continuing Lecturer
Area: Arabic Language
HSSB 3058
campo@religion.ucsb.edu
Carlson, Thomas
Professor
Founding Director, International Center for the Humanities and Social Change, UCSB
Area: Philosophy & Religion; History of Christian Thought
HSSB 3036
tcarlson@religion.ucsb.edu
Caron, Louis
Lecturer
Area: Medieval and early modern Christianity
HSSB 3054
louis.r.caron@gmail.com
El Omari, Racha
Associate Professor
Area: Arabic Islamic Studies
HSSB 3059
elomari@religion.ucsb.edu
Elison, William
Assistant Professor
Area: South Asian Religions, Visual Culture
HSSB 3053
welison@religion.ucsb.edu
Feiz, Aazam
Lecturer
Persian Language and literature
Area: Linguistics, Second Language Acquisition, Developing Materials for Teaching Persian
HSSB 3065
M/W, 11:00 am- 12:00 pm
afeiz@religion.ucsb.edu
Fowler, David
Lecturer
Area: South Asian Languages & Religions
HSSB 3061
T 1:45-2:45pm & TH 12:15-1:15pm
fowlerds@gmail.com
Garr, W. Randall
Professor
Area: Northwest Semitic Languages, Hebrew Bible, Ancient Near East
HSSB 3050
wrgarr@religion.ucsb.edu
Hecht, Richard
Professor
Area: Hebrew Judaic Studies, History of Religion
HSSB 3076
ariel@religion.ucsb.edu
Hillis, Gregory
Continuing Lecturer
Area: Tibetan and Sanskrit
HSSB 3060
TR 10-111
ghillis@religion.ucsb.edu
Holdrege, Barbara
Professor
Area: South Asian Traditions and Jewish Traditions
HSSB 3034
holdrege@religion.ucsb.edu
Jarrett, Gregory
Continuing Lecturer
Walter H. Capps Center
Area: Applied Ethics
HSSB 3061
T 12:45-1:45 (Walk-ins) & TH 5-5:45pm (By appointment)
gregory.jarrett@cappscenter.ucsb.edu
Khedher, Rayed
Lecturer
HSSB 3046
rayed@ucsb.edu
Moore, Kathleen
Professor and Department Chair
Chair of Department of Religious Studies and Interim Director of the Capps Center for the Study of Religion, Ethics and Public Life
Area: Islamic Studies, Law and Religion
HSSB 3044 (Chair's office)
kmoore@religion.ucsb.edu
Pérez, Elizabeth
Assistant Professor

eperez@religion.ucsb.edu
Rambelli, Fabio
Professor (Religious Studies & East Asian Languages)
International Shinto Foundation Chair in Shinto Studies
Area: Japanese religions, Semiotics
HSSB 2253
rambelli@eastasian.ucsb.edu
Reynolds, Dwight
Professor
Area: Folklore & Folklife
HSSB 3056
dreynold@religion.ucsb.edu
Steavu-Balint, Dominic
Assistant Professor
Area: Chinese Religions and Chinese Buddhism
HSSB 2253
dsteavu@eastasian.ucsb.edu
Talamantez, Inés
Associate Professor
Area: Anthropology, Linguistics, and Comparative Literature
HSSB 3069
talamant@religion.ucsb.edu
Taves, Ann
Professor
Virgil Cordano OFM Endowed Chair in Catholic Studies
Area: Modern Christianity and American Religion
HSSB 3085
taves@religion.ucsb.edu
Thomas, Christine
Associate Professor
Director of the Ancient Mediterranean Studies Program, UCSB
Area: Early Christianity & Religions of the Roman Empire
HSSB 3067
M 12-1 pm, 3:30-4:15 pm; W 11 am -12 pm
thomas@religion.ucsb.edu
Walker, David
Assistant Professor
Area: U.S. Religion (19th century)
HSSB 3086
W 1-3pm
dwalker@religion.ucsb.edu
Wallace, Vesna
Professor
Area: South Asian Studies
HSSB 3045
vwallace@religion.ucsb.edu
White, David
Professor
J. F. Rowny Professor of Comparative Religion
Area: South Asian Religions
HSSB 3077
white@religion.ucsb.edu
Wiseman, Wendy
Lecturer
Area: Philosophy of Religion, History of Christian Thought, Religion and Climate Change
HSSB 3054
wiseman@religion.ucsb.edu
Wolfson, Elliot
Professor
Marsha and Jay Glazer Endowed Chair in Jewish Studies
Area: Jewish mysticism and philosophy; gender construction and the history of religion
HSSB 3061
ewolfson@religion.ucsb.edu
Yang, Mayfair
Professor (Religious Studies & East Asian Languages and Cultural Studies)
Area: China: Chinese religions, modernity and the state, gender, media studies
HSSB 3084
yangm@religion.ucsb.edu